Strom Law Firm, LLC

DWAI Penalties

As your attorney we will seek to minimize the following potential penalties in your case and attempt to retain your drivers license:

1. Colorado DWAI -

Penalties change almost yearly and can currently be found in Colorado Revised Statutes 42-4-1207.  A Court must impose jail but for a first offense, it can suspend all or part of the sentence if you complete an alcohol treatment program. The judge must also impose education programs, useful public service, fines and court costs that usually exceed $400. Eight points will be assessed to your driving record as well as a habitual strike against your driving record.

The penalties increase if you have a prior alcohol offense or take a test that exceeds .20.

Generally, and most importantly, jail may become mandatory, the maximum fine may increase, useful public service may increase and court costs will usually exceed $400. In addition the DMV will assess a second habitual strike against your driving record and attempt to suspend your license for a second offense.

Please call the Denver or Golden office at 303-359-4242 for the specific penalties that will apply to your individual case.

Contact

Phone: 303-359-4242
Fax: 303-957-2603


Email:   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.